ADAC Formel 4 

ADAC Formula 4·9.3.2022

Formula 4 champions on their way to the top

Théo Pourchaire was crowned ADAC Formula 4 champion in 2019 and now lines up in his second season of Formula 2. On the way to the pinnacle of motorsport, he comes up against Juri Vips, the Estonian driver who won the high-speed school in 2017. In Dennis Hauger and Marcus Armstrong, two more former Formula 4 drivers are pursing the ambitious goal of a seat in Formula 1.

The official tests in Bahrain, ahead of the 2022 Formula 2 season, were something of a reunion for former ADAC Formula 4 drivers. More than half the field has driven in the ADAC’s high-speed school in the past. They all share the same goal: to make it into Formula 1.

Dennis Hauger is one of them. The Norwegian is a promising talent and finished runner-up in the German Formula school in 2019. His first season in Formula 3 did not go entirely to plan, but the 18-year-old bounced back to win the title in 2021. Four wins and a further five podiums speak for themselves. Hauger is now looking to use Formula 2 as a springboard to the top class. The prerequisites are right: Hauger has been a Red Bull Junior since 2018 and can depend on the experienced team at Prema Racing.

Juri Vips has also been part of the Red Bull family for four years. The Estonian began his Formula career in ADAC Formula 4 in 2016. One season later, he was crowned champion. The 21-year-old now lines up for Hitech Grand Prix in his second full season of Formula 2. His team-mate at the British outfit is Marcus Armstrong. The New Zealander finished runner-up behind Vips in the Estonian’s title-winning season.

Théo Pourchaire went one better, winning the ADAC’s talent factory in 2019. Now 18 years old, the Frenchman took that momentum into Formula 3 and promptly finished second in the series that features on the support programme for Formula 1. His victory in Spielberg made him the youngest winner in Formula 3 history. Pourchaire also created headlines in Formula 2: Last year, he again went down in the history books as the youngest pole-sitter and race winner (Monaco). The talented youngsters all have one thing in common: their promising careers all began in the ADAC’s Formula school.