ADAC Formel 4 

ADAC Formel 4·7.11.2020

Edgar and Crawford in league of their own: Title fight going to the wire

The title fight in the ADAC Formula 4 is set to go to the wire ultimately. During qualifying in the grand finale at Oschersleben, the two main contenders battling each other at the top of the standings, Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford, drove in a league of their own and comfortably took Pirelli Pole Position Awards in qualifying for the first two races. Edgar consigned his Van Amersfoort team-mate to second place in Q1, but the roles were reversed in Q2. Edgar is 23 points up on Crawford ahead of Race 1 this Saturday afternoon at 12:00 noon and could get very close to clinching the title. However, the title will be decided in one of the two races on Sunday (09:25 and 14:55 CET).

SPORT1 will broadcast the ADAC Formula 4 races on TV. Racing can also be watched online at,, and on the ADAC TCR Germany Facebook page.

Edgar and Crawford went out on track later than any of the others in Q1 and followed through their respective programmes. They both got faster with every lap. Edgar posted a 1:24.068 on his final attempt and took the lead. Crawford tried to counter but was beaten by a whisker, just 0.027 seconds. Victor Bernier was three tenths down and booked third place. Joshua Dürksen also qualified on the second row. US Racing's four drivers finished behind them. Rookie champion Tim Tramitz and Elias Seppänen will share the third row. Oliver Bearman will be in P7 on the grid, Vladislav Lomko in P8. Josef Knopp and Roee Meyuhas completed the Top Ten.

The two Red Bull Juniors bided their time again to begin with in Q2, leaving the hunt for best time to the others. Crawford set his first hot time around five minutes before the end and then kept improving. His best time of 1:23.444 minutes was by far and away the fastest lap seen so far this weekend. For his part, Edgar tried to attack again as he made his last attempt but failed to beat Crawford by 0.094 seconds.

The gap of three tenths on the best of the rest was again quite large. Bearman qualified third ahead of Bernier. Lomko was fifth, Tramnitz sixth and Seppänen seventh. Dürksen in eighth place took the final position on Row 4. Kirill Smal qualified ninth ahead of Erick Zuniga.