Champion Theo Pourchaire (on left) with Arthur Leclerc and Dennis Hauger Photo: ADAC Formel 4
Champion Theo Pourchaire (on left) with Arthur Leclerc and Dennis Hauger Photo: ADAC Formel 4

Tales from the paddock at Sachsenring

Breath-taking ADAC Formula 4 finale: Theo Pourchaire wins battle with Dennis Hauger

US Racing CHRS sweep the board again with taking drivers', team and Rookie championships. The ADAC Formula 4 drivers held an end-of-season party on Sunday.

SachsenringRace 1Race 2Race 3
WinnerMichael Belov (RUS) Theo Pourchaire (FRA) Dennis Hauger (NOR)
Second Theo Pourchaire (FRA) Dennis Hauger (NOR) Theo Pourchaire (FRA)
Third Gregoire Saucy (CHE) Gianluca Petecof (BRA) Arthur Leclerc (MON)
Best Rookie: Paul Aron (EST) Joshua Dürksen (PRY) Roman Stanek (CZE)
Pole position: Theo Pourchaire (FRA) Theo Pourchaire (FRA) Roman Stanek (CZE)
Fastest lap: Dennis Hauger/1:19.935Gianluca Petecof/1:19.958 Arthur Leclerc/1:19.797

What an exciting finish, a real thriller as Theo Pourchaire secures title during grand finale to ADAC Formula 4 season. The French teenager ultimately maintained the upper hand in his epic battle with Red Bull Junior, Dennis Hauger from Norway. US Racing CHRS triumphed again and repeated their title hat-trick from the previous year.

Nerves of steel: Theo Pourchaire did not have an easy time preparing for this season's finale. He travelled to the Sachsenring with the burden of knowing that his lead on Dennis Hauger in the overall standings had been reduced to a single point after the Hockenheim weekend. But Pourchaire's showing at Sachsenring was absolutely amazing. After two pole positions, one win and two second places, he was the last man standing and ultimately became the new ADAC Formula 4 champion. "It was a tough weekend, I knew that the battle with Dennis would be hugely challenging," he said afterwards: "And so now, I'm extremely pleased to have been successful in winning the title!"

Smiles all the way: US Racing CHRS are still the team to beat in the ADAC Formula 4. After winning all three titles in 2018 (drivers', Rookie and team classifications), the outfit managed by Gerhard Ungar and Ralf Schumacher were just as successful again this year. Pourchaire became champion and Roman Stanek best Rookie. The title win in the team classification then followed and put the icing on the cake to another strong season. "I'm very proud and extremely pleased," said Gerhard Ungar.

Better late than never!: While Dennis Hauger did not win the title in this season's ADAC Formula 4, narrowly losing out to Frenchman, Theo Pourchaire, the Red Bull Junior from Norway triumphed in the Italian Formula 4. We congratulate Dennis Hauger on his championship win!

Plenty of variety: Michael Belov won the first ADAC Formula 4 race at the Sachsenring, showing just how evenly matched drivers contesting the championship were this year. The 20 races produced ten different winners, more than in any year except for 2017 when there were 21 races on the calendar.

The end of a series: Since the inaugural season in 2015, the driver winning the first race of the season has then gone on to become champion, but that did not happen this year, breaking the series. Brazilian Gianluca Petecof emerged triumphant from the first race of the season with a record-breaking lead of 14.132 seconds. However, the Ferrari Junior finished the season fifth in the overall standings.

Strong Rookie: 15-year-old Czech driver, Roman Stanek, not only kept alive his chances of winning the championship until the very end, he also wrote a small piece of ADAC Formula 4 history. He finished the season in a strong fourth place overall, doing better in the ADAC Formula 4 than any rookie before him. Gerhard Ungar described Stanek's performance as "brilliant" and "exceptionally good."

Old friend: Fans of the ADAC Formula 4 will, no doubt, still remember Laurin Heinrich, who raced in the ADAC High-Speed Academy in 2017. 18-year-old Heinrich was also competing at the final weekend of the 2019 ADAC Formula 4 but in the Porsche Carrera Cup where he made a successful debut. He had a thrilling scrap with Dutch veteran driver, Jaap van Lagen, for quite a time in the first race. He ultimately finished twelfth and 14th. "That was a terrific experience and very enjoyable," said Heinrich.

Breaking new ground: The season finale has always taken place at the Hockenheimring ever since the first season in 2015, but the last three races were held at the Sachsenring this year. More than 25,000 spectators were at the circuit to watch a thrilling season finale.

2020 Season