2017 champions: Prema Powerteam won both the driver's and team titles this season  Photo: ADAC Formel 4
2017 champions: Prema Powerteam won both the driver's and team titles this season Photo: ADAC Formel 4

Prema Powerteam win team classification again

Italians successfully defend their title from last year

Champion Juri Vips and runner-up Marcus Armstrong consistently in the points. Prema Powerteam have led since first weekend.

'Start-to-finish victory' for Prema Powerteam. The Italian racing outfit successfully defended their title in the team classification of the ADAC Formula 4. Prema Powerteam have led the team classification throughout from the first race at Oschersleben - and they gradually extended that lead during the course of this third ADAC Formula 4 season. Prema also produced the new champion and the runner-up in the ADAC Formula 4 with Juri Vips (17, Estonia) and Marcus Armstrong (17, New Zealand).

Prema Team Principal Angelo Rosin: "The result is absolutely terrific for us, especially as this championship was so keenly fought. Of course, we had a tough race weekend with the stress and pressure of two of our drivers both fighting for the win. This is a great championship that is extremely well organised, and we have a brilliant champion."

"It's great that Prema have taken the title for the second year in a row," said New Zealand's Armstrong, who knows the team very well. In addition to lining up in the ADAC Formula 4, the 17-year-old also competes in the Italian formula racing series for juniors. Vips races regularly in Italy as well but concentrates mainly on the ADAC Formula 4 - and with some success. In the end, the Estonian finished 4.5 points up on his New Zealand team-mate. Enzo Fittipaldi (16, Brazil) and Juan Manuel Correa (18, USA, Ecuador) were also in Prema's line-up in Germany this year.

They all hope to have a future career in motor racing, and Prema have brought on many top-class drivers since its inception in 1983 and has been with them every step of the way into professional motorsport. Lance Stroll is one of them. The Canadian won last year's Formula 3 European Championship, paving his way into Formula 1 with Williams. DTM championship runner-up Edoardo Mortara has also raced for Prema, as have Lucas Auer, Esteban Ocon, Felix Rosenqvist, Robert Kubica, Kamui Kobayashi, Jacques Villeneuve and Valtteri Bottas, who now drives for Mercedes in Formula 1.

Mick Schumacher (18, Germany) too lined up in the ADAC Formula 4 for Prema Powerteam last year. After finishing runner-up behind Joey Mawson (21, Australia, Van Amersfoort Racing), the son of record Formula 1 world champion Michael Schumacher switched to Formula 3.

It's not just the success of their drivers that is paramount at Prema, the team also guide their drivers as they develop and make their way up the career ladder. Team Principal Rosin: "It's hard to compare our drivers, but they definitely have one thing in common. They are all very strong characters, and they all have the potential to be championship contenders and be successful in motor sport."

While they are based in Grisignano di Zocco in the north of Italy, the ADAC Formula 4 still has a firm place in the racing team's approach to the sport. Rosin: "We want to be the best and win, but that's not the most difficult task. The most difficult thing is to stay in front. We've competed in many different junior series and have always pursued the goal of providing our drivers with the best possible platform. The ADAC Formula 4 is, therefore, a perfect fit for us. The driver's field is one of the strongest of all the Formula 4 series and is extremely challenging."

2018 Season