Lights-to flag victory for Kim-Luis Schramm in Race 1 at the Lausitzring  Photo: ADAC Formel 4
Lights-to flag victory for Kim-Luis Schramm in Race 1 at the Lausitzring Photo: ADAC Formel 4

Kim-Luis Schramm wins Race 1 at the Lausitzring

Following Schramm across the line: Kami Laliberté and Yuri Vips

Belgium's Charles Weerts in P11 is Best Rookie. Tenth-placed Gachot secures pole for the third race on Sunday.

Kim-Luis Schramm (19, Germany, US Racing) delivered a consummate lights-to-flag victory in the first of three ADAC Formula 4 races in the context of the Motorsport Festival at the Lausitzring. The pole-sitter came in ahead of Kami Laliberté (17, Canada, Van Amersfoort Racing) and championship leader Juri Vips (16, Estonia, Prema Powerteam) to celebrate his second victory in the ADAC Formula 4 series. The results from this race are, however, provisional and subject to the outcome of an ongoing appeal.

"It went great, and we had a perfect car," said Schramm after the race. "I was able to control the race from the start. I got off the line perfectly and was then able to control the pace and later on even nurse my tyres. There was nothing to fear from behind, as the gap was big enough."

On the first corner, Laliberté succeeded in pushing forward from P5 on the grid and forcing his way between the US Racing drivers ahead of him into second place behind Schramm.

The safety car was deployed as early as the second lap when Jonathan Aberdein (19, South Africa, Motopark) collided with Fabio Scherer (17, Switzerland, US Racing). The Swiss teenager spun off track and was obliged to retire shortly thereafter. The race also came to a premature end for Aberdein. The only female on the grid - Sophia Flörsch (16, Germany, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.) - had to abandon the race on Lap 4 after losing her front wing.

Vips surges from P12 to podium

Championship leader Juri Vips staged a magnificent charge through the field. The Estonian youngster worked his way up from twelfth to cross the line in third. Lifting the Best Rookie trophy was Charles Weerts (16, Belgium, Motopark), who just missed out on his first ADAC Formula 4 point with a P11 finish.

Completing the Top Ten were Julian Hanses (19, Germany, US Racing), Marcus Armstrong (16, New Zealand, Prema Powerteam), Felipe Drugovich (16, Brazil, Van Amersfoort Racing), Frederik Vesti (15, Denmark, Van Amersfoort Racing), Cedric Piro (19, Germany, Team Piro Interdental), Lirim Zendeli (16, Germany, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.) and Louis Gachot (17, Great Britain, Van Amersfoort Racing)

In the third race on Sunday (16:55 CEST, shown live on SPORT1+), Gachot will start from pole position ahead of Zendeli and Piro. The grid for this race is determined by the result of Race 1. The Top Ten start in reverse order, meaning that Schramm lines up in tenth.

The second race of the ADAC Formula 4 weekend will be contested on Saturday afternoon. Live coverage on SPORT1 commences at 17:40 CEST. It can also be watched online at and US Racing's Julian Hanses starts this fourth race of the season from pole position.

More comments on the ADAC Formula 4 race

Kami Laliberté (second, Van Amersfoort Racing): "I think I drove well. I had an especially good start and a good first turn, because I immediately moved up from fifth place to second. The pace of the car was good, because I managed to keep up with Schramm, but towards the end, I lacked straight-line speed. But anyway, I'm happy with my race."

Juri Vips (third, Prema Powerteam): "After the problems I had with the car in qualifying, I wouldn't have expected to finish on the podium. I was simply trying to get into the Top Ten, and my focus was on the reverse grid in the third race. But then I got off to a really good start, after which I kept gaining positions and finished the race on the podium."

Charles Weerts (eleventh and Best Rookie, Motopark): "That was a really good race. I may have missed my target of finishing in the Top Ten, but I think I'm heading in the right direction. This is my best result of the season, so I am very happy. I would like to win the rookie trophy again in the next race and extend my lead in the Best Rookie standings."

2018 Season